Leap Day is for Leaping: The Adventure Begins

Leap day is one day away, and I’m doing it up big this year.  By this time tomorrow I’ll be on a plane heading to San Jose, Costa Rica, where I will spend the next three months working with Emily Yozell and developing The Rich Coast Project.

I could not be more excited for this adventure to begin.  It all started last summer when I happened to learn about Emily late in an evening of internet-surfing.  Having always considered doing my last law school co-op abroad somewhere, I was investigating ways to get back to Central America.  In college I spent a week volunteering at an orphanage in Ciudad Quesada, Costa Rica, and had since developed a strong interest in global environmental challenges and sustainable development.  Costa Rica was already on the top of my list… and then I stumbled across Emily Yozell’s biography.

What an amazing career! Emily has lived in Central America since shortly after she graduated from my soon-to-be alma mater, Northeastern University School of Law.  She has worked on toxic tort litigation against banana plantations, helped spur a movement that has kept Costa Rica free from oil drilling, and founded a law firm dedicated to environmental and human rights issues.  I knew right away that this was a woman I wanted to work with and learn from, if only I could actually make it happen.

Somehow I’ve made it happen.  Emily and I got in touch shortly thereafter, and have been crafting the outlines of my co-op for the last six months.  In addition to helping Emily with her ongoing legal work, I have created this website to unify legal research with real life stories.  This past semester I began gathering research sources and spent a lot of time learning how to use WordPress and my new camera.  Thursday morning I will wake up in San Jose and hit the ground running!

Stay tuned for a much busier and more exciting Rich Coast Project experience. Through a combination of serendipity, persistence, and other people being just plain wonderful, The Rich Coast Project is already off to an exciting start!  I can’t wait to see where the next few months will take me, and I hope you’ll join me for the adventure.

Are you making a leap for leap year?

3 responses to “Leap Day is for Leaping: The Adventure Begins

  1. Katie, this is so exciting! Am looking forward to great stories ahead, and know that you will bring terrific energy and enthusiasm to all you do there.

    Safe travels,
    Vivienne

  2. Pingback: The Story of The Rich Coast Project | The Rich Coast Project·

.

